For The Sports  

Go Back   For The Sports > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2016, 01:38 PM   #1
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default Technical Support Thread

thanks in advance for any advice. i had a mini-panic attack last night.

my pc had a lengthy windows 10 update on monday night before it shut down. on tuesday, i booted it up, and the updates began configuration. before hitting 100%, the pc restarted and displayed the BIOS screen, then flickered with the WIN10 logo and then, just a black screen. from here i can only do a hard restart (i hate hard restarts) but again, just the BIOS screen and then the WIN10 logo briefly loading then flickering off.

i boot from my SSD, so i'm assuming that is the problem. but i'm a little skeptical since the SSD has been in use for less than a year. dumb me doesn't have a backup recovery disk/drive, so is my only solution to buy a new windows os and run a fresh install from usb?

is there a way to test the SSD?
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 03:50 PM   #2
ItsEasyBeingGreen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 260
Default

If you have a Windows 10 ISO you can create a bootable USB and get to the recovery environment to attempt repair. This would obviously require having another PC/laptop to create the bootable media. I thought Windows 10 was supposed to automatically go into recovery environment after successive failed boots though.
ItsEasyBeingGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 04:29 PM   #3
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsEasyBeingGreen View Post
If you have a Windows 10 ISO you can create a bootable USB and get to the recovery environment to attempt repair. This would obviously require having another PC/laptop to create the bootable media. I thought Windows 10 was supposed to automatically go into recovery environment after successive failed boots though.
that's what i thought after some research but the boot just gets stuck and doesn't re-initialize.

i just don't wanna buy an OS and have it still not boot. i want to make sure the problem is isolated to my SSD.
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:09 PM   #4
ItsEasyBeingGreen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 260
Default

Does PC have any builtin diagnostic that you can run preboot? I know the Dell business series do.

Sounds like you could create a bootable Ubuntu and run the Gnome Disk Utility mentioned here. Or maybe you could find live CD to boot from that already has a utiilty.
http://askubuntu.com/questions/32528...ealth-of-a-ssd

Unless the SSD is quite old I'd lean towards it not being the issue though.
ItsEasyBeingGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:41 PM   #5
ItsEasyBeingGreen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 260
Default

You should be able to download Windows 10 and create bootable media without buying anything. With the bootable media you should be able to get into the recovery environment.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...oad/windows10/

Once you boot off of the install media you can select Repair your computer

ItsEasyBeingGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 07:20 PM   #6
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsEasyBeingGreen View Post
You should be able to download Windows 10 and create bootable media without buying anything. With the bootable media you should be able to get into the recovery environment.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...oad/windows10/

Once you boot off of the install media you can select Repair your computer

thanks a bunch, i'll give it a shot.

i read about a common bug with WIN10 where the login screen isn't correctly displayed if you have the monitors plugged into the video card. it shows as an all black screen with just your cursor visible, which is my symptom. so i'm hoping everything works out after i enter my password blindly on the black screen. it sounds dumb, but i hope it fixes it!
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 10:46 PM   #7
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by towelie View Post
thanks a bunch, i'll give it a shot.

i read about a common bug with WIN10 where the login screen isn't correctly displayed if you have the monitors plugged into the video card. it shows as an all black screen with just your cursor visible, which is my symptom. so i'm hoping everything works out after i enter my password blindly on the black screen. it sounds dumb, but i hope it fixes it!
so this was the issue. i never had a really big issue with windows, but this could've made me spend way too much extra money when it was just a display glitch.

if anyone else runs into a "booting to a black screen" issue, try entering your password and seeing if the display responds.
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 10:54 PM   #8
ItsEasyBeingGreen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 260
Default

Is this the anniversary update?
ItsEasyBeingGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:13 PM   #9
D-Unit
Super Senior Member
 
D-Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7,507
Default

Best buy for a new wireless router?
D-Unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:24 PM   #10
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsEasyBeingGreen View Post
Is this the anniversary update?
seems to be. it also did something weird with my graphics card and i had to reinstall the driver to get my other monitor to work. i do need to stop delaying updates and be prompt with them.
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 12:30 AM   #11
nepg
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Unit View Post
Best buy for a new wireless router?
Probably this guy if you're looking for bang/buck. If you need greater performance, there might be better options. I don't know what your internet speed is like or what you do with your internet at home.

Last edited by nepg; 09-29-2016 at 12:38 AM.
nepg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 01:50 PM   #12
bigbluedefense
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 19,103
Default

Someone teach me SQL.
bigbluedefense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 02:37 PM   #13
Damix
Dictator
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbluedefense View Post
Someone teach me SQL.
Basic SQL is pretty easy to read and digest whats going on. If its one of the procedural SQLs, its a different story.
Damix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 02:43 PM   #14
bigbluedefense
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 19,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damix View Post
Basic SQL is pretty easy to read and digest whats going on. If its one of the procedural SQLs, its a different story.
That's what it seems like so far. I guess the trick that I need to understand more of is, if 2 tools that I need to integrate information to/from use a different language, how do I get them to communicate to each other? From what I'm reading, I need to use a buffer language that both tools can interact with, and that language will convert information to/from each tool so they can interact with each other.
bigbluedefense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 05:34 PM   #15
Damix
Dictator
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5,221
Default

ETL tools are what you're describing.
Damix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 05:40 PM   #16
bigbluedefense
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 19,103
Default

I have a lot to learn in this field.
bigbluedefense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 05:42 PM   #17
towelie
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: hollywoo
Posts: 16,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbluedefense View Post
I have a lot to learn in this field.
informatica is a commonly used ETL tool if you wanna read up on it.
towelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 05:53 PM   #18
Damix
Dictator
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by towelie View Post
informatica is a commonly used ETL tool if you wanna read up on it.
Also pretty damn expensive, its what I developed on at the beginning of my career.

Still sometimes miss it.
Damix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 06:42 PM   #19
General Zod
Super Senior Member
 
General Zod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,596
Default

Lately when I go to start my computer up for the day(in the morning). Randomly it shut off during the boot up process. This only happens when the computer is cold. After it warms up, I never have that problem when I restart it. I have not installed any new hardware or software for that matter in quite sometime.

Sounds like my power supply right? Its a 700w Corsair PSU. Its about 4 years out and I've never had a problems with it. When my computer is running I don't have any temp issues at all.

What do you all think?
General Zod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 07:26 PM   #20
Brent
LeBron James is a bitch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 12,322
Default

Off the top of my head, make sure you computer is clean. Also, try a different outlet.

Other than that, I guess boot to safe mode to make sure it doesn't happen again. if it does then, I think you need to dig deeper.
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.